Resources

View Page as PDF

Washington Employer Guide To
Disability Resources

 

INTRODUCTION

This guide is provided to assist employers, human resource personnel, hiring managers and supervisors with relevant federal state and local level information around their legal obligations and with resources that can assist in identifying, paying for, and implementing effective accommodation strategies to increase the recruitment, employment, training, retention, and promotion of people with disabilities.

These sites are provided for information only and do not constitute endorsement, express or implied, of the referenced organizations, their suitability, content, products, services, or accuracy. Please report any broken, out-of-date, obsolete links, or to suggest that a website be included to mike@urablellc.com.

The information presented has been aggregated form other sources and is subject to change at any time.

 Suggestions for Use

  • To identify incentives available to employers who hire people with disabilities
  • Assess and identify reasonable accommodations including:
    • Removal of barriers
    • Assistive technology
  • Aid in Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA) compliance
  • Information that can be shared with employees who are in the process of identifying their needs and options or those of their family members.

 Quick Access to Disability Information on the web

The web sites listed below have been selected to provide a broad range of generalized information

 

What

Scope

Link

When to access

Job Accommodation Network (JAN)

National

JAN1 Questions relating to accommodations, ADA, and workplace issues for your current employees or job applicants who experience a disability

Disability.gov

National

 logo-disability-dot-gov Information on: Benefits, Employment, Health, Transportation, Technology and More

Think Beyond the Label

National

 logo-think-beyond-the-label Making the Business Case for hiring people with disabilities. Incentives/Tax Credits, Accommodations, Best practices

Work Opportunity Tax Credit
(WOTC)

National

 logo-wotc Information on availability of Work Opportunity Tax Credit: Qualification, Reimbursement amounts, How to apply

US
Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
(EEOC)

National

 logo-eeoc Information about federal law prohibiting employment discrimination

US
Department of Labor
Office of Disability Employment Policy (ODEP)

National

 logo-odep Resources for increasing the employment of people with disabilities, Access new E-Laws, Non-discrimination law advisor

Employers Disability Resource Network
(EARN)

National

 logo-ask-earn Employer resources for:Training, Assessing/identifying reasonable accommodations, Creating a Disability-Friendly Workplace, Website Accessibility

National Disability Rights Network

National

 
National Disability Rights Network
Legally based advocacy services to people with disabilities

US Business leaders network

National

 US Business Leaders Network Employer networking and support, Diversity and disability inclusion practices, Sponsorship opportunities

Northwest ADA Center

Regional

 Northwest ADA Center Listings and descriptions for all employment and disability related resources in the Pacific Northwest, Contact NW ADA Center representative for training on disability and employment related topicsInformation and guidance on establishing a fully accessible and accommodating place of business for consumers and place of employment for staff, suppliers and partners that meets ADA guidelines

Washington State Division of Vocational Rehabilitation
(DVR)

State

 DVR logo square Individualized employment services and counseling to people with disabilities, Technical assistance and training to employers about the employment of people with disabilities

Washington State Department of Social and Health Services
(DSHS)

State

 DSHS General information regarding services for people with disabilities, Developmental disabilities, Suporrted Living

Washington State Division of Behavioral Health & Recovery
(DBHR)

State

 DBHR Information on Behavioral Health (mental illness, disorders and substance abuse and recovery)Supported Employment resources for people with Behavioral Health disabilities

Washington State Business Leadership Network
(WSBLN)

State

 Washington State Business Leadership Network State-wide employer networking and support, Diversity and inclusion best practices, Information sharing

Specific Disability Resources (listed alphabetically)

† Indicates State Resource

‡ Indicates Local Resource

Advocacy Organizations

Action DD (www.actiondd.org)
‡Alliance of People with Disabilities (www.disabilitypride.org)
American With Disabilities Act Technical Assistance  (www.adata.org)
Children’s Defense Fund  (www.childrensdefense.org)
‡Community Employment Alliance (www.communityemploymentalliance.org)
Consortium for Citizens with Disabilities  (www.c-c-d.org)
†Disability Rights Washington      http://www.disabilityrightswa.org
Disabled Peoples’ International  (www.dpi.org)
Down Syndrome Research Online Advocacy Group  (www.dsoag.com)
Easter Seals  (www.easterseals.org)
Family Voices  (www.familyvoices.org)
March of Dimes — Washington Chapter  (www.marchofdimes.com/washington)
National Organization on Disability  (www.nod.org)
Open Doors for Multicultural Families (www.multiculturalfamilies.org)
Parent to Parent (P2) (http://www.p2pusa.org/))
Parent Pals.com  (http://parentpals.com/)
Partners in Policy  (http://mn.gov/mnddc/pipm/)
†People First of Washington (http://www.peoplefirstofwashington.org/)
‡Tacoma Area Coalition of Individuals with Disabilities  (www.tacid.org)
The National Association for the Dually Diagnosed  (www.thenadd.org/)
Self Advocates Becoming Empowered  (www.sabeusa.org)
Self Advocacy Online (http://www.selfadvocacyonline.org/)
Speaking For Ourselves  (www.speaking.org)
TASH  (www.tash.org)
‡The Arc of Grays Harbor (www.arcgh.org)
‡The Arc of King County  (www.arcofkingcounty.org)
‡The Arc of Kitsap/Jefferson Counties (www.arckj.org)
‡The Arc of Snohomish County www.arcsno.org
‡The Arc of Southwest Washington (www.arcswwa.org)
‡The Arc of Spokane (www.arc-spokane.org)
‡The Arc of TriCities (www.arcoftricities.com)
‡The Arc of Washington State  (http://www.arcwa.org/)
‡The Arc of Whatcom County (www.arcwhatcom.org)
‡The Arc of Yakima County (arcofyakimacounty@gmail.com)
The ArcLink  (www.thearclink.org)
The Council For Disability Rights  (http://disabilityrights.org)
†Washington Coalition of Citizens With Disabilities  (www.wccd.org)
†Washington State Developmental Disabilities Council (www.ddc.wa.gov)

Aging & Developmental Disabilities
Aging & Disability Services Administration  (www.adsa.dshs.wa.gov)
Center on Aging and Disabilities
Informative Fact Sheets for Older Adults and Family Caregivers
National Down Syndrome Society (http://www.ndss.org/)
Resources on Aging with Intellectual/Developmental Disabilities

Alcohol and Substance Abuse
Developmental Disabilities/Substance Abuse  (www.mass.gov/mddc/documents/ddsablueprint.doc)
The Substance Abuse Resources & Disability Issues (SARDI) Program  (www.med.wright.edu/citar/sardi/index.html)
National Association on Alcohol, Drugs and Disability Inc.  (www.naadd.org )
National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information  (http://health.org)

Arts and Disability
National Arts and Disability Center (http://nadc.ucla.edu/)
National Institute of Art & Disabilities  (www.niadart.org)
Sprout Film Festival  (www.gosprout.org/film)
VSA Arts  (http://education.kennedy-center.org/education/vsa/)

Asperger’s Syndrome
A.S.P.E.N. (www.aspennj.org)
Asperger’s Disorder  (www.aspergers.com)
Families of Adults Afflicted with Asperger’s Syndrome (FAAAS)  (www.faaas.org)
KidsHealth for Parents: Asperger’s Syndrome  (www.kidshealth.org/parent/medical/brain/asperger.html)

Assistive Technology
Alliance for Technology Access (www.ataccess.org)
Apple Computer Inc., Accessibility (www.apple.com/accessibility)
Computer/Electronic Accommodations Program (CAP) ( www.cap.tricare.mil/)
Family Center on Technology and Disability  (www.fctd.info)
IBM Accessibility Center (www-03.ibm.com/able/)
National Business and Disability Council (www.business-disability.com)
National Database of Assistive Technology Information (www.abledata.com )
Microsoft Accessibility:  http://www.microsoft.com/enable/
Prentke Romich Company (PRC) (www.prentrom.com ) A manufacturer of augmentative communication devices for people with disabilities, Prentke Romich has a guide for funding assistive technology available at its website
Technology Access Program (TAP) (http://tap.gallaudet.edu/ ) Website contains a variety of information on telecommunications for people who are deaf and hard of hearing. Software can be downloaded that  assists with eliminating communication barriers    
†Washington Assistive Technology Alliance (http://watap.org/)
†Washington Assistive Technology Foundation  (www.watf.org)

Autism
Autism Distance Education Network  (www.albany.edu/psy/autism/autism.html)
†Autism Guidebook for WA State (http://here.doh.wa.gov/materials/autismguidebook/13_AutismGd_E10L.pdf)
Autism National Committee  (www.autcom.org)
Autism Outreach Project  (website)
Autism Research Foundation  (www.ladders.org)
Autism Research Institute  (www.autism.com)
Autism Society of America  (www.autism-society.org)
‡Autism Society of Tacoma/Pierce County
†Autism Society of Washington  (www.autismsocietyofwa.org)
Autism Speaks (http://www.autismspeaks.org/index2.php?intro=1)
Autism Now (National Autism Resource & Information Center) http://www.autismnow.org
Center for the Study of Autism  (www.autism.org)
FEAT (Families for Early Autism Treatment)  (www.feat.org)
Geneva Centre for Autism  (www.autism.net)
Online Asperger Syndrome Information and Support  (www.aspergersyndrome.org)
TEACCH (Treatment and Education of Autistic and Related Communication  (www.teacch.com)
The Mind Institute, UC Davis  (www.ucdmc.ucdavis.edu/mindinstitute)
University of Miami Center for Autism and Related Disabilities (http://www.umcard.org/)
University of Sunderland Autism Research Unit  (http://www.espa-research.org.uk/)
†University of Washington Autism Center  (www.depts.washington.edu/uwautism)
†WA State Dept. of Health (http://www.doh.wa.gov/YouandYourFamily/IllnessandDisease/Autism.aspx)

Behavioral Health
Blind/Visually Impaired
American Foundation for the Blind (AFB)(www.afb.org)
National Federation of the Blind (www.nfb.org)
National Information Clearinghouse on Children Who are Deaf-Blind  (http://www.nationaldb.org/)
‡The Seattle Lighthouse for the Blind (www.seattlelighthouse.org/)
†‡Sightconnection  (www.csbps.com)
†Washington State Dept. of Services for the Blind  (www.dsb.wa.gov)

Brain Injury
†Brain Injury Association of Washington  (www.braininjurywa.org)
Brain Injury Association, Inc.  (www.biausa.org)
†University of Washington School of Medicine, Dept. of Rehabilitation Medicine  (http://depts.washington.edu/rehab)

Cerebral Palsy
American Academy for Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine  (www.aacpdm.org)
March of Dimes  (http://www.marchofdimes.com/baby/birthdefects_cerebralpalsy.html)
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke  (www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/cerebral_palsy/cerebral_palsy.htm)
United Cerebral Palsy  (www.ucp.org)

Children
Brave Kids.org  (www.bravekids.org)
Child Development Institute  (www.childdevelopmentinfo.com/learning/learning_disabilities.shtml)
ComeUnity.com  (www.comeunity.com/disability/cerebral_palsy)
Connect for Kids  (http://sparkaction.org/)
Department of Early Learning (www.del.wa.gov/)
NICHCY (National Information Center for children and Youth with Disabilities)  (www.nichcy.org)

Deaf and Hard of Hearing
Deaf Linx (http://www.deaflinx.com/)

Disability Studies
Center for Disabilities and Development
Center on Human Development and Disability  (http://depts.washington.edu/chdd)
Center on Human Policy  (http://thechp.syr.edu)
Disability History  http://www.disabilityhistorywiki.org
Human Services Research Institute  (http://www.hsri.org/index.asp)
Smithsonian National Museum of American History (Disability Rights Movement)  (www.americanhistory.si.edu/disabilityrights/welcome.html)

Down Syndrome
Down Syndrome Educational Trust
Down Syndrome Health Issues  (www.ds-health.com)
National Down Syndrome Society  (www.ndss.org)
National Association for Down Syndrome  (www.nads.org)
Early Intervention
Infant Toddler Early Prevention Program  ( http://del.wa.gov/ESIT/)

Employment
Best Buddies International  (www.bestbuddies.org)
Gladnet  (www.gladnet.org)
National Collaborative on Workforce and Disability   (http://www.ncwd-youth.info/)
U.S. Office of Disability Employment Policy  (http://www.dol.gov/odep/)
Office of Employment Support Programs  (www.ssa.gov/work)
Washington Initiative for Supported Employment (http://www.theinitiative.ws/)
Work Opportunities  (www.workopportunities.org)
Your Ticket To Work (https://yourtickettowork.com/web/ttw/home)

Epilepsy
Epilepsy: Questions & Answers (Southern Illinois University)
Epilepsy.com  (www.epilepsy.com)
Epilepsy Foundation  (www.efa.org)
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke  (www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/epilepsy/epilepsy.htm)
Family Support
Beach Center on Disability  (www.beachcenter.org)
Parents Helping Parents  (www.php.com)
The Fathers Network (www.fathersnetwork.org)

Fetal Alcohol Syndrome
Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders Center for Excellence (www.fasdcenter.samhsa.gov)
U. of Washington School of Medicine Fetal Alcohol and Drug Unit (http://depts.washington.edu/fadu)

Health Portals
Disability Resources.org
HealthFinder.gov
Health.gov
MayoClinic.com
Medline Plus
Network of Care

Healthcare
Adolescent Health Transition Project  (www.depts.washington.edu/healthtr)
Center on Human Development and Disability  (www.depts.washington.edu/chdd)
Children’s Hospital & Regional Medical Center  (www.seattlechildrens.org)
Family Voices  (www.familyvoices.org)
National Network of Libraries of Medicine (http://nnlm.gov)
SafetyNet.US (www.isafetynet.org)
Washington State Home Care Quality Authority (http://www.hcrr.wa.gov/default.htm)

Independent Living
Community Living Exchange (www.cshp.rutgers.edu)
Housing and Urban Development (www.hud.gov/groups/disabilities.cfm)
Independent Living (www.independentliving.org)
Independent Living Research Utilization at TIRR (www.ilru.org)

Inclusion
Inclusion.com  (www.inclusion.com)
Institute for Community Inclusion  (www.communityinclusion.org)
Institute on Community Integration  (http://ici.umn.edu)
Inclusion Research Network  (www.inclusionresearch.org)
Kid Source Online  (www.kidsource.com)

Legal
Columbia Legal Services (http://columbialegal.org/)
Council of Parent Attorneys and Advocates  (www.copaa.net)
National Guardianship Association (www.guardianship.org)
Law, Health Policy & Disability Center  (http://disability.law.uiowa.edu)
Disability Rights Washington (http://www.disabilityrightswa.org/)
Northwest Immigrant Rights Project (http://www.nwirp.org/)
Northwest Justice Project (http://nwjustice.org/get-legal-help)
Wrightslaw  (www.wrightslaw.com)

Media
Disability History Museum  (www.disabilitymuseum.org)
Disability World
Enabled Online  (enabledonline.wordpress.com)
Exceptional Parent Magazine  (http://www.eparent.com)
Family Village  (www.familyvillage.wisc.edu/index.htmlx)
On A Roll Radio  (www.onarollradio.com)

Medical/Medication
Harvard Health Publications  (www.health.harvard.edu)
MedlinePlus (http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/)
Medscape  (www.medscape.com)
Merck Manual  (http://www.merckmanuals.com/home/index.html)
National Organization for Rare Disorders (http://www.rarediseases.org/)
National Institute of Neurological Disorders (http://www.nih.gov/about/almanac/organization/NINDS.htm)
Prescription Drug Info  (www.prescriptiondrug-info.com)

Mental Health

ADHD

BiPolar Disorder

Depression

Schizophrenia

 
Positive Behavior Support
Michigan Positive Behavior Support Network  (www.bridges4kids.org/PBS/PBS.html)
University of Delaware Positive Behavior Support Project  (www.udel.edu/cds/pbs)

Prader-Willi Syndrome
International Prader-Willi Syndrome Organization  (www.ipwso.org)
Prader-Willi Syndrome Association  (www.pwsausa.org)

Recreation
Accessible Recreational Travel  (www.voaww.org/aro)
Cerebral Palsy International Sports & Recreation Association  (www.cpisra.org)
Easter Seals  (www.easterseals.com)
Kids Camps  (www.kidscamps.com/special_needs/developmt_disability.html)
National Center on Physical Activity and Disability  (www.ncpad.org
Special Olympics  (www.specialolympics.org)

Research
National Center for the Dissemination of Disability Research  (www.ncddr.org)

Self-Determination
National Program Office on Self-determination  (www.self-determination.org)
Neighbours Inc.  (www.neighbours-inc.com)
Speaking for Ourselves  (www.speaking.org)

Special Education
All Kinds of Minds  (www.allkindsofminds.org)
Council for Exceptional Children  (www.cec.sped.org)
International Journal of Special Education  (www.internationaljournalofspecialeducation.com)
New Horizons for Learning  (www.newhorizons.org)
Office of Special Education Programs  (www.ed.gov/about/offices/list/osers/osep/index.html)
Partners in Education  (http://mn.gov/mnddc/pipm/)
©Wash. State Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction  (www.k12.wa.us/specialed)
PACER Center (Parent Advocacy Coalition for Educational Rights)  (www.pacer.org)
©Washington PAVE (Parents Are Vital in Education)  (www.washingtonpave.com)

Transportation
©Wash. State Agency Council on Coordinated Transportation  (www.wsdot.wa.gov/acct/default.htm)

U.S. Government
The Access Board  (www.access-board.gov)
Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services (CMCS):  http://www.medicaid.gov/
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services  (http://www.cms.gov)
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/dd/default.htm)
DisabilityInfo  (www.disabilityinfo.gov)
FirstGov – The official website for searching the US Government  (http://firstgov.gov)
National Council on Disability  (www.ncd.gov )
President’s Committee on People with Intellectual Disabilities  (http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/aidd)
US Dept. of Health & Human Services (http://www.hhs.gov/)
US Dept. of Justice – Americans with Disabilities Act  (http://www.justice.gov/crt/about/drs/)
The White House – Disabilities Issues (http://www.whitehouse.gov/issues/disabilities)

WP-Backgrounds by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann